These US senators no longer qualify as legislators

The job of the House of Representatives and Senate is to pass legislation and send it to the President for approval. It is not the job of legislators to only pass legislation that the President says he will sign. The Constitution specifically allows Congress to make laws that the President doesn’t sign by overriding his veto with a supermajority in both houses.

The recent Shut-Show, the longest partial shutdown of the federal government, proves that many US senators are no longer legislating. They are so beholden to the whims of the chief executive that they will only vote for bills that he vows to sign. This is exactly the opposite of what the Founders intended.

On December 20th, the Senate passed a continuing budget resolution to fund the government through February. They passed it by voice vote, without taking a roll call, so in effect it was a unanimous approval. Not one senator opposed the measure enough to send it to a recorded vote.

Immediately after the Senate did their job, President Trump demanded wall funding be added to the measure, so the House Republicans obliged and voted for government and wall funding 217-185, with only two weeks left in their term before the new class of Democrats were sworn in January 2nd. Although Republicans still controlled the Senate, they didn’t have the 60 votes it would take to pass a new resolution with wall funding. So the government shut down.

Since the President vowed to veto any bill without wall funding, it took the Senate until January 24th to even bring a bill to the floor. The clean bill with no wall failed with only 52 of the 60 votes needed, with these senators voting against:

  • Barrasso (R-WY)
  • Blackburn (R-TN)
  • Blunt (R-MO)
  • Boozman (R-AR)
  • Braun (R-IN)
  • Capito (R-WV)
  • Cassidy (R-LA)
  • Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Cotton (R-AR)
  • Cramer (R-ND)
  • Crapo (R-ID)
  • Cruz (R-TX)
  • Daines (R-MT)
  • Enzi (R-WY)
  • Ernst (R-IA)
  • Fischer (R-NE)
  • Graham (R-SC)
  • Grassley (R-IA)
  • Hawley (R-MO)
  • Hoeven (R-ND)
  • Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
  • Inhofe (R-OK)
  • Johnson (R-WI)
  • Kennedy (R-LA)
  • Lankford (R-OK)
  • Lee (R-UT)
  • McConnell (R-KY)
  • McSally (R-AZ)
  • Moran (R-KS)
  • Perdue (R-GA)
  • Portman (R-OH)
  • Roberts (R-KS)
  • Rounds (R-SD)
  • Rubio (R-FL)
  • Sasse (R-NE)
  • Scott (R-FL)
  • Scott (R-SC)
  • Shelby (R-AL)
  • Sullivan (R-AK)
  • Thune (R-SD)
  • Tillis (R-NC)
  • Toomey (R-PA)
  • Wicker (R-MS)
  • Young (R-IN)

Less than 24 hours later (just 6 hours after one of his closest advisers was arrested by the FBI 🤔), Trump caved and agreed to sign a bill with no wall. The Senate then immediately passed with another unanimous voice vote the same measure they had rejected the day before.

The only thing that had changed was the President’s mind. But that’s all it took for 44 US senators to table their objection and allow the bill to pass.

These people are not acting as legislators in the spirit of a federal republic under the Constitution. They’re puppets of the executive, stooges of their party, and should be ashamed of their behavior that left a million federal employees and contractors working without pay for more than a month.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s